Optimized for all browsers and Internet Explorer 8
Search   
Canadian Bovine Mastitis Research Network
 

Our Research  I  Our Results 

Answering Tough Questions about Mastitis

Mastitis raises several questions to which research has not found an answer yet, due to a lack of relevant data. Fortunately, at the Canadian Bovine Mastitis Research Network (CBMRN), this particular problem has been solved! With the creation of a comprehensive database on dairy farms that reflects the Canadian dairy industry, there are no limits to what we can hope for!
 
Kristen Reyher is a veterinarian and a Ph.D. student at the Atlantic Veterinary College of the University of Prince Edward Island. The CBMRN database, created from the results of the National Cohort of Dairy Farms, represents for her a golden opportunity to test several hypotheses related to the dynamics of mastitis. Using complex mathematical models like artificial neural network, Kristen will study the interactions between healthy and infected quarters of the same cow and between different bacteria that cause mastitis.
 
Her work will lead, among other things, to the development of a practical protocol for diagnosing mastitis using information readily available at the farm. Here are a few examples of tough questions Kristen will find answers to through her research:
  • Is a composite sample as useful as a sample from a single quarter;
  • to predict udder infections?;
  • Do infections caused by minor bacteria actually protect cows from more severe forms of mastitis?;
  • Does the presence of an infection in a quarter influences the risk of developing another infection in another quarter?




Member Access
Cohort data bank

Site optimisé pour tous les navigateurs et Internet Explorer 8
Recherche   
Réseau canadien de recherche sur la mammite bovine
 

Notre recherche  I  Nos résultats 

Répondre aux questions existentielles de la mammite

La mammite soulève plusieurs questions auxquelles les chercheurs n’ont pas encore réponse, faute de données pertinentes. Heureusement, au Réseau canadien de recherche sur la mammite bovine (RCRMB), ce problème n’existe plus! Grâce à la création d’une banque de données étoffée à l’image de l’industrie laitière canadienne, tous les espoirs sont maintenant permis!
 
Kristen Reyher est médecin vétérinaire et étudiante au doctorat à l’Atlantic Veterinary College de l’University of Prince Edward Island. La banque de données du RCRMB, créée à partir des résultats de la Cohorte nationale des fermes laitières, représente pour elle l’occasion rêvée de répondre à plusieurs hypothèses liées à la dynamique de la mammite. À l’aide de modèles mathématiques complexes, tel un réseau de neurones artificiels, Kristen fait l’étude des interactions entre les quartiers sains et les quartiers affectés d’une même vache et entre les différentes bactéries de la mammite.
 
Ses travaux permettront entre autre de développer des protocoles pratiques pour le diagnostic de la mammite à partir d’informations facilement disponibles dans les fermes. Voici quelques exemples des questions existentielles de la mammite auxquelles Kristen pourra répondre à la fin de ses recherches :
  • Est-ce qu’un échantillon composite (lait de plusieurs quartiers) est aussi pertinent que l’échantillon d’un seul quartier pour prédire les infections du pis?;
  • Les infections causées par des bactéries mineures protègent-elles les vaches des mammites plus sévères?;
  • Est-ce que la présence d’une infection dans un quartier influence le risque de développer une autre infection dans un autre quartier?




Section réservée
Base Cohorte