Optimized for all browsers and Internet Explorer 8
Search   
Canadian Bovine Mastitis Research Network
 

Our Research  I  Our Results 

Cooking a Vaccine against S. aureus Mastitis

Creating a vaccine is a bit like cooking a cake! Dr. Andrew Potter, from Vaccine and Infections Disease Organisation in Saskatchewan, works in collaboration with other chefs specialized in vaccine cuisine. On the menu of their research, they try to find the right ingredients (antigens), the right recipe (formulation), and utensils (delivery systems) to create an efficient vaccine against Staphylococcus aureus mastitis.
 
From previous work on a different mastitis causing bacteria, researchers think that the antigen GAPDH is a promising ingredient against S. aureus. In the vaccine, this protein is used under two different forms called GapB and GapC. These two forms express themselves on the cell surface of S. aureus.
 
Some people eat their cake with a spoon, others go with the fork. It’s a question of personal taste. For vaccines, it’s a question of efficacy. The favourite utensil used is usually the needle. In their experiment, Dr Potter and his team however tried and needle-free device, with different doses of proteins GapB and Gap C.
 
Surprisingly, results seem to show that the needle-free device induces an immune response as good as with the needle, even when the vaccine doses are less than usual. According to the scientists, we could potentially decrease the concentration of the Gap proteins by tenfold in the vaccine without affecting its efficacy.
 
Such a decrease in the concentration of the main ingredients in the recipe will reduce the costs and allow for producing a safer vaccine for our cows. This is like eating a big piece of chocolate with the richest ingredients, but without too much of the calories!




Member Access
Cohort data bank

Site optimisé pour tous les navigateurs et Internet Explorer 8
Recherche   
Réseau canadien de recherche sur la mammite bovine
 

Notre recherche  I  Nos résultats
 
Cuisiner un vaccin contre la mammite
à S. aureus
 

Créer un vaccin, c’est un peu comme faire un gâteau. Le Dr Andrew Potter de la Vaccine and Infections Disease Organisation en Saskatchewan, travaille avec des collaborateurs qui sont tous des chefs spécialisés dans la cuisine des vaccins. Au menu de leur recherche, ils tentent de trouver les bons ingrédients (des antigènes), la bonne recette (formulation) et les bons ustensiles (système de livraison) pour créer un vaccin efficace contre la mammite à Staphylococcus aureus.
 
D’après des recherches antérieures sur une autre bactérie, l’antigène GAPDH est un ingrédient prometteur contre S. aureus. Dans le vaccin, cette protéine est utilisée sous deux formes qu’on appelle GapB et GapC. Ces deux formes s’expriment sur la surface de la bactérie S. aureus.
 
Certains mangent leur gâteau avec une cuillère, d’autres y vont pour la fourchette. C’est une question de préférence. Pour les vaccins, c’est une question d’efficacité. L’ustensile de prédilection est normalement l’aiguille. Dans leurs expériences, Dr Potter et son équipe ont toutefois testé un nouveau système sans aiguille, en utilisant différentes doses des protéines GapB et Gap C.
 
Étonnamment, les résultats semblent démontrer que le système sans aiguille permet une aussi bonne réponse immunitaire, même quand les doses de vaccin utilisées sont moindres. D’après les chercheurs, on pourrait potentiellement diminuer la concentration des proteines Gap par 10 fois dans le vaccin.
 
Une telle diminution de la concentration des ingrédients principaux dans la recette permettrait de diminuer substantiellement les coûts et de produire un vaccin beaucoup plus sécuritaire pour nos vaches. C’est comme manger un bon gros morceau de gâteau au chocolat, mais avec beaucoup moins de calories!




Section réservée
Base Cohorte