The Research Group on Infectious Diseases in Production Animals (GREMIP) of the Faculté de médecine vétérinaire, Université de Montréal, formerly called « Research Group on Infectious Diseases of Swine », was originally formed in 1982 with the emergence of porcine pleuropneumonia (PPP), the initiating event for the creation of this research group. For many years, GREMIP’s researchers have focused on infectious diseases in pigs, becoming international experts in this field. Recognizing that the methods used could be applied to other animal species, our researchers have decided to expand their research activities in the area of infectious diseases in other production animal species.


The research of our members is particularly focussed on the pathogenesis of bacterial and viral infections in animals. Major research themes include molecular and cellular caracterization of virulence factors of pathogenic or zoonotic animal bacteria, such as Actinobacillus pleuropneumoniae, Clostridium perfringens, Escherichia coli, Salmonella spp, Streptococcus suis, Haemophilus parasuis... Using a creative blend of fundamental and applied research, our work aims to improve the control of infections by these pathogens through the development of diagnostic tools and new vaccines. Our researchers also work on antimicrobial resistance in different animal species such as pigs, poultry, and cattle. In addition, the recent recruitment of new researchers permitted the establishment of new research areas on viral infections, such as those due to swine reproductive and respiratory syndrome virus (RRSV), porcine circovirus (PCV-2), he porcine epidemic diarrhea virus (PED) and influenza virus.

GREMIP sept. 2015
Members of GREMIP at the main entrance of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in St. Hyacinthe
(Photo courtesy of Marco Langlois (DGTIC, September 2015)

 

GREMIP members supervise over 35 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows and are always enthusiastic to recruit and train motivated students seeking to further their expertise in bacteriology and virology. Through the years, our team of researchers has established important collaborations with nationally and internationally acclaimed scientists. The funding of our researchers’ activities is of the order of 4 million dollars per year and is provided from different granting agencies such CRSNG, FRQNT, MAPAQ, Génome Québec and from the pharmaceutical and food industries. Together, our researchers publish at least 55 articles per year in various internationally renowned scientific journals.


The GREMIP members created the Centre de recherche en infectiologie porcine (CRIP), a strategic group of the FRQNT focussing on pig diseases (2006-2012). With the renewal in 2013, the scope of the research was widened to include poultry, changing the acronym CRIP for CRIPA “Centre de recherche en infectiologie porcine et avicole / Swine and Poultry Infectious Diseases Research Center”
(www.cripa.umontreal.ca). The CRIPA brings together more than 40 scientists across Quebec with different expertises and affiliated with more than 10 universities and research institutions. The CRIPA uses a multidisciplinary and integrated approach, combining both fundamental and applied research to investigate the complex nature of swine and poultry infections.

Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact Dr Carl A.Gagnon or any other member of GREMIP. You can also download our brochure and visit us on Facebook! As part of the 30th anniversary of the GREMIP in 2012, a short video was created featuring some of our students and members.

 

ADMINISTRATION

Dr Carl A. Gagnon

GREMIP and CRIPA Director


Helene Boucher Rheaume

Administrative Technician

Isabelle Flibotte 
Support Technician

Nancy Bisaillon

Administrative Agent

Cecile Crost
CRIPA Coordinator

Helene Poirier
Transfer Manager of the CRIPA

Accueil

Le Groupe de recherche sur les maladies infectieuses en production animale (GREMIP) de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l'Université de Montréal, anciennement appelé « Groupe de recherche sur les maladies infectieuses du porc », a vu le jour en 1982 suite à l’émergence de la pleuropneumonie porcine (PPP), événement initiateur de la formation du regroupement. Durant plusieurs années, les chercheurs du GREMIP se sont concentrés sur les maladies infectieuses du porc, devenant ainsi experts mondiaux en la matière. Après des années de recherches fructueuses, forcés de constater que les méthodes utilisées se prêtaient à d’autres espèces animales, nos chercheurs ont souhaité élargir la portée de leurs activités de recherche au niveau des maladies infectieuses en production animale.

Les travaux de recherche des membres du GREMIP portent principalement sur la pathogénie des infections bactériennes et virales animales. Parmi les thèmes majeurs de recherche, notons la caractérisation moléculaire et cellulaire des facteurs de virulences de bactéries pathogènes animales ou zoonotiques telles Actinobacillus pleuropneumoniae, Clostridium perfringens, Escherichia coli, Salmonella spp, Streptococcus suis, Haemophilus parasuis, etc. Par un heureux mélange de recherche fondamentale et appliquée, nos travaux visent à améliorer le contrôle de ces infections par le développement d'outils diagnostiques et de nouveaux vaccins. Nos chercheurs travaillent également sur la résistance antimicrobienne chez diverses espèces animales dont la volaille et les bovins. De plus, le recrutement récent de nouveaux chercheurs a permis la mise en place de nouveaux axes de recherche en virologie portant, entre autres, sur le virus du syndrome reproducteur et respiratoire porcin (VSRRP), le circovirus porcin (PCV-2), le virus de la diarrhée épidémique porcine (VDEP) et le virus influenza.

GREMIP sept. 2015
Quelques membres du GREMIP devant l'entrée principale de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire, Saint-Hyacinthe
(Photo de Marco Langlois, DGTIC, Septembre 2015)

La dizaine de chercheurs qui composent le GREMIP dirigent actuellement les travaux de plus de 35 étudiants à la maîtrise ou au doctorat, et stagiaires postdoctoraux et nos chercheurs sont toujours enthousiastes de recruter et former des étudiants motivés qui sont avides de connaissances en bactériologie et virologie. Nos chercheurs ont établi au cours des ans d'importantes collaborations avec des chercheurs de renom, tant ici qu'à l'étranger. Le financement des activités de recherche de nos chercheurs est de l’ordre de 4 millions de dollars par année et provient de divers organismes subventionnaires (e.g. CRSNG, FRQNT, MAPAQ, Génome Québec et des industries pharmaceutique et agroalimentaire). Nos chercheurs publient en moyenne plus de 55 articles par année dans diverses revues scientifiques de renommée internationale.


En mai 2016, le GREMIP a reçu le Prix du recteur catégorie Collaboration de l'Université de Montréal. Ce prix récompense une équipe qui, par la cohésion de ses membres et les efforts de chacun fait preuve d’une performance exceptionnelle dans l’atteinte d’un objectif commun ou dans la réussite d’un projet.

Le GREMIP a mis sur pied le Centre de recherche en infectiologie porcine (CRIP), un regroupement stratégique du FQRNT (2006-2012). Lors de son renouvellement en 2013, les chercheurs ont étendu leurs champs de recherche au domaine avicole, modifiant ainsi l’acronyme : CRIPA « Centre de recherche en infectiologie porcine et avicole » (www.cripa.umontreal.ca). Le CRIPA regroupe une quarantaine de chercheurs de diverses disciplines, provenant d'une dizaine d'universités ou d'institutions de recherche au Québec. Il vise aussi une approche multidisciplinaire et intégrée (recherche fondamentale et recherche appliquée).

Pour de plus amples informations, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec le Dr Carl A. Gagnon, directeur du GREMIP, ou avec l'un de ses membres. Vous pouvez aussi télécharger notre dépliant d'informations et pouvez dorénavant nous visiter sur Facebook. Dans le cadre du 30e anniversaire du GREMIP en 2012, un vidéoclip a été créé mettant en vedette certains de nos étudiants et nos membres.

 


PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATIF


Dr Carl A. Gagnon
 
Directeur du GREMIP et du CRIPA

Hélène Boucher Rhéaume 
Technicienne en administration

Isabelle Flibotte

Technicienne en coordination du travail de bureau


Nancy Bisaillon
 
Agente de secrétariat

Cécile Crost
Coordonnatrice du CRIPA

Hélène Poirier
Agente de transfert du CRIPA