Objectives

The objectives of the group's activities are:
  • Provide a meeting place as well as a reflection and structured work platform for researchers and professionals whose main interest includes elements of the GREZOSP's mission;
  • Contribute to the advancement of knowledge on epidemiology and public health by studying zoonotic disease agents in animal reservoirs, the environment and in human populations by the development and use of quantitative and qualitative measures;
  • Recruit and mentor graduate students and postdoctoral fellows as well as contribute to the training of researchers and professionnals working in the public health sector;
  • Promote the impact of the group according to the GREZOSP's main research themes;
  • Encourage the cooperation between the group's members and colleagues of academic, governmental and institutional affiliations at the regional, national and international levels.


Research Themes

The work of GREZOSP members is structured within the following main research themes:
  • Role and impact of the agro-environment on zoonotic disease epidemiology
  • Wildlife zoonoses
  • Structures and methods for surveillance
  • Development of decision support tools for public health use
These themes are approached using the following methodology:
  • Mathematical modeling
  • Geomatics, spatial analysis and tele-epidemiology
  • Environmental microbiology
  • Epidemiological methods

Our logo

From an original design by Marie-Laure Le Carre, executive assistant at the Public Health Agency of Canada and associate member of GREZOSP, this concept was finalized with the cooperation of the Bureau des communications et des relations publiques de l'Université de Montréal and approved by our Executive Committee.

The logo's concept, design, colors and font were each discussed as the creation process evolved.

The selected colors, green and blue, are representative of the health sector. Green, a color associated with the environment, symbolizes health, nature and hope. Blue is an official color of the Université de Montréal and emphasizes our research group’s attachment to the university institution.

The primary purpose of the arrow design is to symbolize the "G" in GREZOSP; it then became iconic for a better readability. The color gradation and the motion of the arrow point out the progress made through ideas as well as the knowledge acquired by the association of the two entities. This arrow points towards the result: the GREZOSP.

The two circles recall a Venn diagram as well as cells representing PHAC and Université de Montréal; they also illustrate the human-animal-environment relationship. These circles overlap, symbolizing the discussions and exchanges, and are crossed by the GREZOSP’s arrow which enhances this reflexion.

The GREZOSP acronym is off-centre in order to capture the attention and the letters "SP" for "santé publique" (public health) stand out further aiming the scope of action. Adding a rectangle in the background further highlights the "GREZOSP" name.

Objectifs

Les activités du groupe ont pour objectifs de:
  • Servir de lieu de rencontre, de réflexion et de travail structuré pour les chercheurs et les professionnels dont l'intérêt principal contient les éléments de la mission du GREZOSP;
  • Contribuer à l'avancement des connaissances touchant l'épidémiologie et la santé publique en étudiant les agents pathogènes zoonotiques au niveau des réservoirs animaux, de l'environnement et des populations humaines par le développement et l'utilisation de méthodes quantitatives et qualitatives;
  • Recruter et encadrer des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs et des stagiaires postodctoraux ainsi que de contribuer à la formation de chercheurs et de professionnels oeuvrant en santé publique;
  • Promouvoir le rayonnement du groupe selon les thèmes directeurs du GREZOSP;
  • Favoriser la coopération des membres du groupe avec des collègues d'affiliations académique, gouvernementale et institutionnelle aux niveaux régional, national et international.

Thèmes de recherche

Le travail des membres du GREZOSP est structuré à l'intérieur des thèmes directeurs suivants:
  • Rôle et impact de l’agroenvironnement dans l’épidémiologie des maladies zoonotiques
  • Zoonoses fauniques
  • Structures et méthodes de la surveillance
  • Mise au point d’outils d’aide à la décision en santé publique
Ces thèmes sont abordés principalement à l’aide des méthodologies suivantes:
  • Modélisation mathématique
  • Géomatique, analyse spatiale et télé-épidémiologie
  • Microbiologie environnementale
  • Méthodes épidémiologiques

Notre logo

À partir du design original de Marie-Laure Le Carre, adjointe exécutive à l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et membre associée du GREZOSP, le concept a été finalisé avec la collaboration du Bureau des communications et des relations publiques de l'Université de Montréal et adopté par notre Comité directeur.

La conception, le design, les couleurs et la typographie du logo ont été discutés au fur et à mesure du processus de création.

Les couleurs retenues, le vert et le bleu, sont représentatives du domaine de la santé. Le vert, couleur associée à l'environnement, symbolise la santé, la nature et l'espoir. Quant au bleu, une couleur officielle de l'Université de Montréal, il souligne l'attachement du groupe de recherche à l'institution universitaire.

Le but premier du design de la flèche fut de symboliser le «G» de GREZOSP; il est ensuite devenu emblématique pour une meilleure lisibilité. Le dégradé de couleurs et le mouvement de la flèche évoquent le chemin parcouru par les idées ainsi que les connaissances acquises par l'association de ces deux entités. Cette flèche pointe vers un résultat: le GREZOSP.

Les deux cercles rappellent un diagramme de Venn ainsi que des cellules représentant l'ASPC et l'Université de Montréal; ils illustrent également la relation Homme-animal-environnement. Ces cercles s'entrecroisent, symbolisant la discussion et l'échange, puis sont traversés par la flèche du GREZOSP qui vient dynamiser cette réflexion.

L'acronyme GREZOSP est décentré par rapport au cadre afin de capter l'attention et les lettres «SP», pour «santé publique», ressortent alors davantage ciblant le domaine d'action. L'ajout d'un rectangle en toile de fond met en évidence le nom «GREZOSP».